New York, New York

Talk about anything you'd like! Play games, tell jokes, and share your life.
Cordelia
Kuwabarakuwabara - Oh My God!

New York, New York

Post by Cordelia »

Hi

I'm going to NYC and Boston in early Nov for work and will be extending for 9 days for vacation in NYC afterwards. It's my first time in the city that never sleeps and I'm excited. :) Will be staying at midtown Manhattan.

Here are the things I'm thinking of doing:

- Must-see attractions: e.g Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty, Brooklyn Bridge, Rockefeller Centre etc
- Chill at Central Park (preferably with a bagel and hot drink in hand)
- Catch at least one Broadway show (probably Wicked)
- Visit Times Square
- Museum hopping
- Watch an NBA game
- Shopping (Macy's, Bloomingdale's, H&M etc)
- Browse at The Strand
- Buy portfolios at DickBlick
- Day trip to Tarrytown for antiques via Grand Central station

I have a few silly questions I hope someone can help me with:

- how much to tip? Shd I do so if service is poor? (sorry I come from a place where tipping is not the norm) besides waiters, porters, anyone else I shd tip?

- any recommendations on how to get the cheapest deals, say discounts for admission fees? (these will go a long way since NYC is so expensive :hurt: ) Where are the good places to eat etc.

- anything else I missed out from my list of activities above? anything else I need to know?

Any comments/ suggestions/ sharing of past experiences are most welcome. You could also PM me if you wish. Thanks in advance! :^^:
zerospace
Taiyo - Sun Fearer

Post by zerospace »

Don't forget Ellis Island! ;)

I was at the Statue of Liberty a few years ago myself, and I'd highly recommend you be prepared for quite an ordeal. Security is really tight (they were using bomb sniffing machines to screen everyone). Maybe someone who's been there since then could provide more info, but I recall spending a good deal of time in line(s) just to get into the statue.
iceman57
Senpai - Elder