Tempted to go for Naruto Genga | BWA

Auctions on MSN and Mandarake
PhantomWolf

Tempted to go for Naruto Genga | BWA

Post by PhantomWolf »

so this Naruto genga has caught my eye https://ekizo.mandarake.co.jp/auction/i ... dex=681668

i'm tempted to put in an absentee bid but A: i don't know how much to put in (tentively) and B: i've never used Mandarake before

a part of me is saying to go for it but another part is saying that it might be too pricy (a previously sold Naruto genga (pre shipudden, not BWA) went for around 500 USD) and i'm worried that it'll be around that price range but at the same time if i pass on it and it goes for way less, i'd be kicking myself for not going for it?

so, should i go for it? I've got 20 days to decide so any advice would be much appreciated!
Last edited by PhantomWolf on Sun Apr 17, 2022 1:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
sensei
Moderator and Admin-in-waiting

Re: Tempted to go for Naruto Genga | BWA

Post by sensei »

I have to admit that I don't often use Mandarake, especially during a BWA (do they still insist on a separate registration fee for bidding on that?). When I have done so, I've waited until the very end. Auctions can go quite high, as you observe, or end for pretty reasonable sums, and that all depends (as always) on who's there during the final minutes. I'd set myself a tight max bid, put the day and time in my cel phone alarm (Mandarake now does remind you if you log in and "watch" an auction) and let the action close to the closing moment guide what I do.

Mandarake's bidding process is pretty intuitive. Hit "BID" and a window pops up asking you to enter the amount. Do that, hit enter, and (IIRC) it will then ask you to confirm the bid (just in case you meant to bid 30,000 yen and instead entered 300,000). At least that's my recollection from last time, which was a few years ago.