Greetings from a french collector :D

Are you new to the forum?
Introductions, goodbyes, vacations, reunions...people stuff.
Small-trench

Greetings from a french collector :D

Post by Small-trench »

Hi everyone!

My name is Benoit, and I'm a fellow cel and anime-related-art collector. I'm French, but I've been living in Montréal for the past 5 years.

I started collecting in 2009, when I bought my very first DBZ douga at the Japan-Expo, on Takamura Store booth. Since then I gathered a small collection, nothing too fancy or high end, just memorabilia from my favorite animes from the 90's :)

I am an artist myself, working as background designer in the animation industry, mainly 3D feature films. (The Minions, Despicable Me, Sing, The Grinch, Over the Moon...)

I do not have a Rubberslug gallery as I find the website very old and unpractical, so I'm mainly sharing my pieces through a Google Photo gallery.

Can't wait to discover all your amazing pieces :)
sensei
Moderator and Admin-in-waiting

Re: Greetings from a french collector :D

Post by sensei »

Un débutant! Un débutant! Sortez les bananes du placard!

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Welcome to Anime-Beta. Though a less exuberant crew than in the past, you'll find many avid collectors and admirers of your precious collection. And your experience in new-style animation makes you a valuable addition to the forum. Some of us (myself included) look back to the "superflat" tradition of animation when actual painted sheets were layered on actual watercolor paintings to create the shows we loved. Recently I saw that Madhouse is sticking to this older tradition in Cardcaptor Sakura: Clear Cards. Much to my surprise, actual watercolor paintings were executed and used in this series, and I can see from the paper that comes with them (copies alas) that the studio did a lot of the prep. work in the old pencil-and-paper way.