My First Cel - Little Nemo In Slumberland

Show off your stuff!
bingk

My First Cel - Little Nemo In Slumberland

Post by bingk »

Being so new to this- I was scared to post. I hope I don't sound too naive.

So I've always been a fan of animation and fascinated by it's process of production. Both modern and traditional.
In the past year, I graduated from a long six year journey through college and when I got my own apartment, I finally 'bit the bullet' and brought a cel. My hesitation was from many different aspects, from care, to buying forgery. I felt like I was adopting a purebred dog lol.

Finally, after well over a few months of research, including the company I was buying from, I settled on getting this cel.

((My home scanner isn't big enough for the whole cel, I hope this picture will be okay until I can get a better scan <3 ))
So, there it is- a cel from Little Nemo: Adventures in Slumberland, a film from 1992 that went through production hell.
This film has a lot of history, the comic that inspired the film Little Nemo by Winsor McCay is considered to be one of the first 'comic series' to be created in the US back in 1905. Winsor McCay himself also being one of the earliest creators of animation and still inspires animators today.
This film however, is an example of production hell. Having an incredibly long production development, going through several studios, writers, animators ect:. Even Ghibli animators had a hand in this film for a brief time. It went through money issues, release issues, until ultimately the final studio and director had to basically take 'what was finished' and splice it all together with a story cobbled together to /kinda/ fit the animation.
This and many problems led to the film to fail upon it's release. That being said though- it does have it's cult following, and for myself, it's always been a fascinating film for it's history alone.