SSJ4 Gogeta douga markings...

For the n00bs of cel collecting and production art . . . and for some of us old-timers, too. Post your questions on anything that puzzles you.
Wendy
Himajin - Get A Life

SSJ4 Gogeta douga markings...

Post by Wendy »

Hi everyone :)

I recently bought this SSJ4 Gogeta cel from YJ and it came with two matching douga; the line art and the shading:

http://chx.rubberslug.com/gallery/inv_i ... mID=262747

I pasted the two douga together (sketch 1) and added a close up of the markings on both of them for you to see (sketch 2).
Now, I have been collecting since 2003, but I have never seen numbering like that before.

Does anyone know what it means? Or is it quite common?
I really haven't seen it before.

Any illumination = greatly appreciated :)
Nelia
Kishin - Fierce God

Post by Nelia »

Wow, that's a gorgeous cel! And I've never seen those markings. o_O I know some DBZ douga do have a lot of excess writing on them, though. My Trunks sketch has, I think, 3 writings to point out stuff on them aside from the numbering, but I've never seen the seq. info done like that. :O
Shampoo
Kiba-phile

Post by Shampoo »

Caroline is an animator maybe she may shed further light,
but in animation class I remember some of us use to put comp.
as in composite (as a note to ourselves) when we
wanted to separate and use more than 1 sketch to
make up the movement.

Looks almost like a gaijin or westerner working
@ the studio indicating the A1 is the start of the action
and to keep in mind that the next 2 sequences, A1-2 is made up of composite layers (which is a total duh in anime LOL).

Just my take on it.

:shrug

I am by no means a DBZ collector so Im not sure if this
is a norm on the sketches.
majinuub
Kuwabarakuwabara - Oh My God!

Post by majinuub »