Real deal or...

For the n00bs of cel collecting and production art . . . and for some of us old-timers, too. Post your questions on anything that puzzles you.
nekotan

Real deal or...

Post by nekotan »

Hello dear Anime-Beta-Senpais ^_^/

I'm rather new to cel-collecting and brand new in this forum and since I tried searching for an anwer to my question but couldn't really find one I thought I should try asking here, since my search did bring up loooots of statements about the enormous experience gathered here, that should and could be asked for help - so I want to try my luck :)

Due to my lack of experience I'm greatly afraid of fakes and wanted to ask, how to differentiate between the real and not so real deals when it comes to cels (in general, even though I understand that there are great difference between the various production studios).
I'm particularly interested in Evangelion cels, but those seem to be especially difficult (there didn't seem to be that many on the market some time ago, but now...) and any help (maybe even from a fellow Evanagelion collector) would be very appreciated.
So far I have heard that having a matching douga with the cel gives some reassurance (and other voices that don't think that this helps that much... X| )and matching the cel to the exact screen shot does a great deal in giving some "safety" as well. It may seem awkwardly stupid to ask (please don't laugh at me... :cry: ) but couldn't the fake have been made from an exact screen shot and thus fit quite well too?
As you can see, I'm pretty lost and any help from the gathered fund of knowledge would be very much appreciated. :bow

nekotan :cat
cutiebunny
Yosutebito - Hermit

Re: Real deal or...

Post by cutiebunny »

Welcome to Beta! :vict

I don't think you have much to worry about if you buy from reputable dealers, like Mandarake or those with solid positive feedback on Yahoo Japan.