Buffered vs Unbuffered

For the n00bs of cel collecting and production art . . . and for some of us old-timers, too. Post your questions on anything that puzzles you.
marianoaperez

Buffered vs Unbuffered

Post by marianoaperez »

Dear collectors

I am new in this world and thanks to this space I have learned a lot! Maybe you can help me with some questions:

As far as I read, the sketch/genga/douga must be stored in a mylar bag in this order:

Microchamber paper behind
The sketch/genga/douga in the middle
Glassine in front

Reading some articles about the buffered (contain an alkaline reserve) vs unbuffered (ph neutral) storage materials some questions came to my mind:

1) To store items like this, is better a buffered interleaving paper between the mylar and the sketch?

2) To store gengas/dougas and considering that they has different colours, is better unbuffered interleaving paper, right?

3) How often do you change the buffered / unbuffered interleaving paper?

Thanks for your time!
sensei
Moderator and Admin-in-waiting
Moderator and Admin-in-waiting

Re: Buffered vs Unbuffered

Post by sensei »