Is Shopping Mall Japan dead?

Auctions on Yahoo Japan
sutepri

Is Shopping Mall Japan dead?

Post by sutepri »

Does anyone know if anything has happened to SMJ? I hadn't used the site since last year but went to place a bid on a YJ auction tonight and the site is broken and bidding doesn't work. Their social media accounts have all been taken down which is always a bad sign, plus Nick's Anime Chaos site seems to have been removed. I've been using them since ~2006 and I'll be super bummed if Nick closed up shop but it's also worrying me since I have a decent amount of money sitting in there.
Matt
Juuyaku - Executive

Re: Is Shopping Mall Japan dead?

Post by Matt »

SMJ is working for me. Placed a bid a couple days ago without any issues.
oxypetalus
Otaku - Fanatic

Post by oxypetalus »

SMJ is what I use and I've used it recently with no problems. Maybe since it's been a while you need to update your account somehow. If you email them they're pretty fast with responses.
momo
Otaku - Fanatic

Post by momo »

SMJ is still operating but just barely. The desktop user interface (UI) is horribly outdated and the mobile UI is dreadful. SMJ should invest time and monies to upgrading the mobile version.
oxypetalus
Otaku - Fanatic

Post by oxypetalus »

So I use SMJ for all my YJ buying but just got this message when I tried to bid on something
We're sorry, SMJ is no longer accepting new bids or orders. We ask that you finalize all payments and submit a shipping request as soon as your items are in stock. Please keep in mind, due to the holiday season, we will not ship from 12/28 to 1/6.
I just got a shipment from them today and have one item waiting to request shipping but this doesn't look good. I wonder if they're closing up shop or if it's just temporary ? I also heard Rinkya is no longer accepting bids/orders right now as well due to suddenly losing their warehouse space :0
Matt
Juuyaku - Executive

Post by Matt »